A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

How did you become so obsessed?

on January 14, 2014

I didn’t know how to phrase it… but I read a couple posts this week that I just loved – stories about how people became so product obsessed. One of my favorites is from Karen of Makeup and Beauty Blog.

My story is multi-level. I blame my grandmother to start. She has this amazing collection of little Avon lipsticks that I would admire and try on from time to time. Somehow, I thought I could get away with fuchsia and would apply it and then go outside to play. Two hours later I would be a sweaty hot pink mess. Not very subtle I guess… But my grandma would always take me to Mary Kay parties and let me try all of the products with the women. She always ended up buying stuff and never used it. I remember discovering the green moisture masks when I was a teenager and using them every time I went over to her house. They were probably ancient and really horrible for my skin, but I just had to use them!

I officially was allowed to wear makeup when I turned 13, just in time for some really awkward acne years. I carried my Cover Girl cover up everywhere and self consciously hiding my breakouts between every class. I would save up my babysitting money for I think they were called LipSlicks at the time… and probably bought them in all of the wrong colors. Those years were so incredibly awkward – I doubt that the wrong lipstick color was the greatest of my worries.

When I got to high school, I got really into theatre and was completely fascinated with the stage makeup kits and started doing makeup for all of my friends before productions. My theatre classes introduced me to advanced looks and I discovered the possibilities of turning yourself into someone or something else. It was so exciting to be able to experiment with colors and textures and to really create something completely new.

As I got into college, I focused on music but spent very little time on theatre courses and advanced makeup techniques. I do recall sleeping through a couple makeup lectures and then turning myself into a pretty amazing macaw. Lecture, schmecture. But outside of class, I started to discover what the makeup counters had to offer. I was in no way adventurous at the time, but would experiment with purple and greens from Clinique – and buy juuuuust enough to get that bonus gift.

By the end of college and beginning of grad school, I ventured over to the MAC counter and really began to experiment with color. At the time, there wasn’t a Sephora nearby or MAC store, so it was definitely a lengthy trip to find exciting products. I moved to DC for grad school and found that I could walk or take the train to find any type of store I could ever want. The shopping was amazing. So began my love affair with products. I discovered Stilla and Lorac and everything I had read about in fashion magazines. I think it was then that my true magpie tendencies kicked in and since then it has been so hard to resist beautiful shades and amazing packaging.

What is your story? How did you fall in love with makeup or beauty products?

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

