A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

My Favorite Things Part 2

on December 26, 2013

Welcome to part 2 of the ridiculous list of things that I love. As I started thinking about how organize this post, I realized there was much more than I anticipated… I grabbed a notebook and started a list of everything… it was completely overwhelming. But its true, these are really things that I love using – some of which have been staples for years. This edition includes skincare and nails…. one of which is significantly longer than the other… let me hang my head in product shame.

As I’ve mentioned, I tend to have very sensitive skin – sunburn and windburn easily, freckles, occasional product sensitivity. I’m also incredibly pale and work hard to make sure that I wear some form of SPF every single day.

My favorite skincare products:

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser – my first and last step of the day. This never dries out my skin, but works hard enough to remove some pretty intense eye makeup. It’s also super gentle and never hurts my incredibly sensitive eyes.

Murad Clarifying Cleanser – for when you just need a little more intense of a face wash… or if you’re 30+ and still have an occasional WTF string of breakouts. This is also really great in the summer after working out or after applying sunscreen.

Aveeno Positively Ageless Surfacing Scrub – such an incredibly gentle face scrub – I’ve been trying things for years and always feel like I’m spreading shards of glass across my face. This scrub finally broke the trend and always leaves my face feeling and looking clean and fresh.

photo 2

Clinique Clarifying Lotion #2 – ok, laugh if you will… I’ve been using this for 15 years and it has never done me wrong. I love the feeling of a toner after washing my face in the morning and evening. The lotion is somewhat deceiving, as it really is a toner. For the price point, it does a great job.

Miracle Worker eye cream – oh yes. I love this… as you can read in here in my previous post. Just an update – in the last 3 weeks since using this twice daily, I definitely see a difference in line reduction and tightness. I found the price a bit hard to swallow, but am so impressed with the overall improvement.

Murad Balancing Moisturizer SPF 15 – this has been another long-term love for me. Years ago, I believed that it was bad to use the same products for a long period of time. And now I’m a believer in if its not broken, don’t mess it up. This lightweight moisturizer has been great year round – never leaves me feeling greasy or under moisturized. This used to be marketed as the pomegranate moisturizer and has since been renamed – same formula.

photo 1

Aveeno Positively Ageless Night Repair- I’ve tried several other products and just keep coming back. This is my definite go-to for spring/summer/fall but needs a bit of a boost during the winter.

Neutrogena sunscreen – I love the cooling spray mist and dry touch cream – all of which go up to 85+. While some high SPF sunscreens have a tendency to feel like glue, this goes on light and comes off easily.

Clearly there are some patterns in my brand choices. I try so many of the products from my Birchboxes and don’t always get the intended results. Every once in a while there are some products like LaFresh or Liz Earle that my skin approves of, but I really try to keep it consistent.

My favorite nail products:

My current loves are Essie and Color Club (another Birchbox find). They both last 3-4 days without needing touched up, just a refreshed topcoat. Thanks to the recent Allure Beauty Box, I rediscovered how much I really like Sally Hanson’s topcoat – the IntsaDry topcoat is a miracle worker. I have been using OPI topcoat forever and been feeling indifferent about it and this completely changed my mind ab0ut topcoat… again.

Part 3 is going to be makeup… let the note taking begin… this might take a while!

I hope all of you had a wonderful Christmas and are enjoying making your final New Years plans!

 

4 responses to “My Favorite Things Part 2

  1. […] from my friend Laura, who is a Murad Brand Ambassador. You all know I love Murad, especially their Acne Clearing line. After 2 weeks of poor diet and nasty travel skin, I tried it out. This particular product […]

  2. […] I don’t think I need to explain much… if you want specifics, you can visit older posts here , here and […]

  3. […] favorite – my trusty Murad Balancing Moisturizer. I wrote about this in one of my very early favorites posts. After the Paula’s Choice experience, I’ve had a very challenging time concealing some […]

  4. […] and I go through a bottle of Clarifying Lotion every 6-7 months. Previously mentioned here and here, this product helps my skin get the feeling of squeaky clean after a few layers of makeup. I […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

