A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

A little product feedback

on December 17, 2013

Happy Tuesday!

The reward for finishing baking and frosting cookies and cleaning the house was to finally try all of the fun stuff that came last week in my ipsy Glam Bag. As I mentioned, this was my first one and I’m very happy so far. You can read my previous post on my initial reaction here.

Here is everything swatched out:

swatch

The first thing I did was bust out the Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio  by POP Beauty in Smokin hot. I trashed the enclosed applicator and used the Eye Blender Brush by Mirabella that was also included and the MAC 210 brush. I love silvers and grey, so you can imagine my disappointment when I had to go over the first shadow shade several times to make it appear on my skin. And folks, I’m PALE. This should show up. The middle color is nicely pigmented and the darkest shade is much better. I’m not used to having to work so hard to have pigment appear, so I guarantee if I use this trio on a regular basis, it won’t last long.

Here is the final product:

pop  eye

(Please ignore the lack of concealer and brows in need of attention)

I followed up with 2 coats of Chantecaillle Faux Cils mascara that came a while back in a Birchbox. And side note – while it’s a perfectly fine mascara, I would never pay $42 for the full size product. It is also my goal in 2014 not to buy mascara. I have so many BB and Benefit samples that I think it might be doable…

The next product is The One Stick by Be a Bombshell in coral. It’s interesting. I’ve never actually tried a 3-in-1 stick so I was definitely intrigued and went straight for the lip use. I had to really work to get it to spread:

coral

It looks nice enough on, however, I am probably going to use it more as a cream blush based on how sheer it is. It took a lot of work to even swatch it – I think that was about 5 swipes and I got annoyed and got aggressive with it. Oops.

The final product was the Big Lip Pencil by J.Cat Beauty in this pinky-red shade. I sort of dismissed it as another red that wouldn’t match my skin tone. Ok, I was wrong. Not only does the color look great, it’s the perfect pinup girl red! After 3 hours of talking and drinking wine, it has faded on the sides a bit, but the color is going strong! Even the Mr. commented on it. This definitely isn’t an every day color, but I could break this out on occasion.

red

and yes, this was the highlight of my day… when the only other things you’ve done involve cleaning, this is totally fun.

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

