A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Product reviews – Philosophy and Caudalie

on November 26, 2013

I recently ran out of my go-to eye cream and chose not to replace it – I think its time to break up. So I thought this would be a great opportunity to break out a couple items of my product stash and be adventurous. My eyes issues are sensitivity, fine lines and dark circles – can there really be a product that solves these problems?

The first product I tried was philosophy’s Miracle Worker Retinoid Eye Repair Cream. According to Sephora, the product is designed to do the following:

“Restore and renew the delicate eye area with this formula that includes Philosophy’s high-performance retinoid—an ingredient that delivers all the benefits of retinoid with less potential for irritation. This eye cream supports natural surface cell turnover and natural collagen to dramatically improve the look of wrinkles and discoloration. The addition of peptides reduces the appearance of undereye bags and dark circles for a brighter, more ageless appearance.”

s1482546-main-hero

This product did it all. WOW. In one week, I noticed the fine lines were less noticeable and any early morning puffiness disappeared. It was moisturizing without being oily and hydrated throughout the day. This product gets an A+.

Sadly, I ran out of my philosophy sample and moved on a very generous Birchbox sample of Caudalie Premier Cru The Eye Cream. I’ve had this sitting in my stash for a few months and waiting for the right opportunity to break it out. BB says:

“The Vinotherapie® experts at Caudalie have come up with a lush eye cream that tackles all the main signs of aging: dehydration, fine lines, loss of elasticity and firmness, puffiness, and dark circles. This sophisticated formula alleviates all those issues with a potent blend of antioxidants, anti-aging ingredients, and natural hydrators. Plus, light-diffusing particles make the under eye area look immediately brighter.”

caudalie_premiercru_eyecream_900x900

I’ve never used a Caudalie product, and due to my sensitive skin, was sure to test the product on my inner arm overnight and had no immediate reaction. I took that to mean it was safe for my face. WRONG. I used this for 2 days and will never use again. It made the skin around my eyes red and irritated and then proceeded to make the skin flake and peel.  I stopped using it over 24 hours ago and my face still hurts. I’ve never had a reaction like this and am so disappointed. I thought maybe I was using it incorrectly or something and went back to check out the Birchbox reviews only to discover that while most people loved it, there were a few people who had the same reaction. Scaly, irritated skin… I actually labeled my review OUCH. I’m sorry Caudalie fans, but the Premier Cru gets a big, fat F.

Looks like I’m going to have to break my no-buy rule and go get some new eye cream 😦

4 responses to “Product reviews – Philosophy and Caudalie

  1. […] Product reviews – Philosophy and Claudalie (lvp8779.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Worker eye cream – oh yes. I love this… as you can read in here in my previous post. Just an update – in the last 3 weeks since using this twice daily, I […]

  3. […] testing), I discovered the Philosophy Miracle Worker. I’ve been using this for over a year now (see original post) and have been very happy with the results. This high retinol cream hydrates tired, dry eyes and […]

  4. […] so sad to see this go! This was amazing for my dark circles and wrinkles and originally mentioned here. I have some other things I need to get through in my stash, but would definitely repurchase. […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

