A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Use it!

on November 24, 2013

There has been so much talk about No Buy November on some other great blogs and an entire section of the Make Up Talk forums devoted to using existing products. It’s so hard this time of year with amazing pallets and holiday sets hitting the shelves. But I’ve found some great inspiration for ways to use up specific products. Even though there are only a few more days left in the month, I’m going to dig deep and try to carry this through December.

The beginning of this month was a total bust, so I have some catching up to do. However, over the last week, I’ve made a serious effort to use up some products and finished a tube of Dr. Jart Black Label Detox BB Cream and Philosophy Hope in a Tube. I’m leaning heavy on 3 MAC products, including 2 very old lip glasses. And as an incentive, I’m one empty container away from a free product. If you aren’t familiar with the Back 2 MAC program – there is a recycling program that rewards you for every 6 empty products. At a counter (Nordstrom, Macy’s, etc.), you can redeem for a lipstick. If you go to the free standing store, the empties can be redeemed for a regular line lipstick, lip glass or eye shadow. I’ve tried to sweet talk swapping for a limited edition product before and was given a very dirty look. Don’t make your MAC artist angry…. trust me.

I’ve derailed. My goal is to finish one body wash and one makeup item this week. I’m not allowing myself to use or even swatch any of my new lip products (which is killing me!!) until I finish one of the existing products. Do you have any no-buy goals? Are you rewarding yourself for success?

 

3 responses to “Use it!

  1. anelson1809 says:

    I also have been meaning to finish up my body wash! Hopefully it will be gone by Sunday! The biggest issue I’m having is with some hair care products. It seems to take forever for me to get through leave-in conditioner. Any advice?

    • lvp8779 says:

      Conditioner does last forever, doesn’t it? Are you unhappy or bored with the product? Look at the back of the product, if there is a little icon in the shape of an open can with numbers in it, it indicates how long the product should be used after opening. If you’re just tired of it and have lots of time left, swap it out. Definitely don’t use extra conditioner to use it up, you’ll just end up over conditioning and have limp hair.

  2. […] the end of November I was determined to use up some products and set some spending goals… which I failed miserably at. The only thing I succeeded in doing, however was really plowing […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

