A New Day

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Week of BB Cream

on November 7, 2013

I’m a makeup junkie. Certifiably. I find shopping at Sephora completely therapeutic and get complete joy out of opening my monthly Birchbox.

To set the stage, I’m a very pale brunette who has sensitive, combination skin. I’m a devoted user of MAC and Bobbi Brown user, but always have room to incorporate something new.

With that being said, I decided to do some reviews of several BB creams/foundations – such a hot topic right now:

– Stila Stay All Day 10-in-1 HD Beauty Balm – Birchbox sent a very generous sample several months back. I really liked the clean, silver and black tube. I gave this product several tries, but it ultimately left me feeling greasy and constantly wanting to re-powder. This might be a good option for someone who has a dryer skin type. To find out more go here: http://www.birchbox.com/shop/stila-beauty-balm

– Dr. Jart Water Fuse SPF 25 BB Creaam – another Birchbox sample. This was definitely better than the Stila for my particular skin type. It was nice and light with great coverage. I would give it a B.

This week I have been doing a side by side comparison of the following 4 products:

– Dr. Jart Black Label Detox Beauty Balm – WOW. The coverage is sheer with so much dimension. I don’t feel as though I need to layer color back over the base to look natural. I want this product to use every day. LInk:  http://www.birchbox.com/shop/dr-jart-black-label-detox-bb-cream

– MAC Studio Moisture Tint Light – I stopped using MAC foundation several years ago because, um, even the NC15 was too dark. Yes, I’m that fair. My friendly MAC guy at Nordstrom hooked me up with a generous sample of the Light Tint to try at home. This makes me want to go back to their foundation. This is a great lightweight texture that provides great coverage and still lets my freckles shine through. This didn’t have the depth of the Black Label, but a really fantastic product. Here is the link: http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/shaded/158/1695/Products/Face/Foundation/Studio-Moisture-Tint-SPF-15/index.tmpl

– Bobbi Brown SPF 35 BB Cream in Extra Light – yes, Extra Light. I thought this was a great product, but is so similar to the tinted moisturizer. I was looking to find a product with a little more coverage. But, yes, Extra Light was the perfect shade… Link: http://www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com/product/2336/21694/Makeup/Face/Foundation/BB-Cream-SPF-35/index.tmpl

My winner for this round – Dr. Jart Black Label.

3 responses to “Week of BB Cream

  1. Welcome to my world 🙂 Have you ever tried a Japanese BB? If not I will bring my
    Missha for you to swatch next time; I can email you my favorite video on them too. They are totally different than American BBs (which are all basically tinted moisturizers or fancy primers).

  2. […] – Dr. Jart Black Label Detox BB Cream – will definitely buy again! I reviewed it briefly here. […]

Leave a Reply

Always, Cleia

Beauty, Lifestyle, and Subscription Boxes

The Beauty Deputy

Reviews on all things beauty related such as: makeup, skin care, fragrances, and much more!

sarah loves makeup

ramblings from a girl who's been obsessed with makeup since, well, forever

The Project Pan Gal

This blog is about my love for makeup and my attempts on using my products up.

After the 9 to 5

Lifestyle - beauty, music, art, books - blog for balancing after the 9 to 5

Life Before Noon

I am learning what the world is like when you wake up before sunrise.

Canadian Beauty Blogger - Makeup Swatches Reviews Hair Nail Polish

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

Beauty & The Tomboy.

My Beauty Obsession Shared!

BlushingNoir

Just another WordPress.com site

The Subscriptionist

Subscription Boxes Revealed and Reviewed

Makeup and Beauty Blog | Makeup Reviews, Swatches and How-To Makeup

Taking a look at all of the things I've been missing

PrettyTrippy

a beauty & travel blog (well sort of...)

